Fan Us!



Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Print

About | Legal | Privacy | Advertise

Copyright © 2004-2017 Teachtopia.com - All Rights Reserved

Common Core Standards

What are the Common Core Standards?

The Common Core Standards are a series of new teaching and learning standards adopted by 45 of the 50 states and several U.S. Territories.  They are K-12 standards that are geared towards preparing children for college and occupational training programs following High School.

Why were the Common Core Standards created and who created them?

The standards were created so that students, parents, and teachers have consistent and clear expecations about what is  supposed to be learned and be taught.  The standards are meant to be clear and understandable, rigorous,  and test higher order thinking skills.  They are also built upon states standards and other top performing country’s academic standards.  The standards are also based upon research and supported by evidence.

The Standards were not created by one body, but rather by a coalition of the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO).

Why has my state not adopted the Common Core Standards?

There are many reasons why a state might have not adopted the common core Standards.  Some states might simply be waiting to see how states that adopt them do, others might want independence from what might seem as a mandate at the national level.  

Direct Links to the Common core standards

Information about the Math Common Core Standards

Information abou the Common Core Standard for English Language arts

For additional and source information, please visit CoreStandards.org.